Search This Blog

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

4 STAR REVIEW: "Touching Smoke (Touch, #1)" - Airicka Phoenix


I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
SMOKING COVER!

I really enjoyed reading “Touching Smoke”, the first book in Airicka Phoenix’s “Touch” series. I was constantly surprised throughout the book. Just when I thought I knew what was going on, Ms. Phoenix pulled the rug from under my feet and surprised me again! This is a great YA Paranormal Romance – readers who enjoyed books like James Patterson’s “Maximum Ride” series and Kelly Armstrong’s “Darkest Powers” trilogy will really like “Touching Smoke” by Airicka Phoenix! I give this book 4 stars!

This book is about a sixteen year old girl named Fallon who lives life on the run with her mother. Problem is she never even knew she was running until recently. Fallon’s first clue something was off was when her mother purposefully drove a motorcyclist off the road and left him there. Fallon had an instant connection with this man on the motorcycle, almost like they were soul mates, but she had no idea why. She had no idea who he even was, but she had such a driving need to make sure he was alive and well. Later, Fallon found out this man’s name was Isaiah, and he was sent to protect her at all costs. She realizes that she would do anything to protect him as well. Fallon knows that what she and Isaiah feel for each other is not typical for teenagers in love, but they were made for each other – literally. Bit by bit, strange things have been happening to Fallon and she doesn’t know what is going on because her mother never answered any of her questions. The things happening to Fallon is not normal. Fallon and Isaiah are NOT normal. Join Fallon in “Touching Smoke” by Airicka Phoenix, in her search for the answers to her many questions about her existence. See what happens with Fallon and Isaiah in their fight for their lives in this great YA Paranormal Romance.

I really enjoyed the characters in “Touching Smoke.” I liked seeing Fallon progress from an awkward and frightened girl to a strong and brave young woman. The change was great to see. There were so many obstacles, drama, and pain in Fallon’s young life. But, when the time came to stand tall, fight and protect, Fallon did just that. I loved how she stood up for what she felt was right, and tried to protect what and whom she loved. I also loved Isaiah’s character. I loved his bad boy looks when he was first introduced in the story. I love motorcycles so his bike gave him added bonus points in my book. I like how fiercely Isaiah tried to protect Fallon, even before she knew who he was. ***SLIGHT SPOILER***Even though Fallon and Isaiah’s love was programmed, I believed in it. ***SLIGHT SPOILER!***

I read “Touching Smoke” quickly even though it was not a short read. I read the kindle version and when I was finished and came online to write my review I noticed that there were 380 pages in the paperback version. I had no clue there was that many pages because it didn’t feel like a long read at all. I like when I am reading and just so engrossed in the story that the length doesn’t bother me. I hate it when a book is really long for no reason, when the story just seems to go on and on with no end in sight – “Touching Smoke (Touch, Book 1)” definitely wasn’t one of those books though! I think that author Airicka Phoenix paced this story perfectly. There was the right amount of everything at the right time: suspense, romance, action, heartbreak, and more. The conclusion of this story left me satisfied yet yearning for more. I will definitely be looking out for the second installment of the “Touch” series. Airicka Phoenix is an author to look out for, and I would recommend her to Young Adult Paranormal Romance fans.

1 comment:

  1. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing my book, Brianna! Your thoughtful words meant the world to me. I'm delighted you enjoyed the story and hope you'll consider reading/reviewing the following books in the series!

    Best wishes,
    Airicka

    ReplyDelete

I absolutely love getting comments and I would love to hear your feedback!
Also, If you followed my Blog and would like me to follow yours back, leave your blog link! xoxo Happy Reading && Writing! <3